ComboDeck

Your friendly Magic: the Gathering card search! Your friendly Magic card search!

Search for anything on a card:

Search cards for anything:

Chandra, the Firebrand

Legendary Planeswalker — Chandra

[+1]: Chandra deals 1 damage to any target.

[−2]: When you next cast an instant or sorcery spell this turn, copy that spell. You may choose new targets for the copy.

[−6]: Chandra deals 6 damage to each of up to six targets.

3 Loyalty

Formats

Commander
Duel Commander
Legacy
Modern
Penny Dreadful
Vintage
Not in formatStandard
Brawl
Explorer
Future
Historic
Old School
Pauper
Pioneer
Pre-Modern

Oracle Rulings

  • Chandra's second ability creates a delayed triggered ability that will copy the next instant or sorcery spell you cast that turn, regardless of whether that spell has targets.September 22, 2011
  • If the spell Chandra copies has an X whose value was determined as it was cast (like Consume Spirit does), the copy has the same value of X.September 22, 2011
  • If the spell Chandra copies is modal (that is, it says "Choose one —" or the like), the copy will have the same mode. You can't choose a different one.September 22, 2011
  • The copy will have the same targets as the spell it's copying unless you choose new ones. You may change any number of the targets, including all of them or none of them. If, for one of the targets, you can't choose a new legal target, then it remains unchanged (even if the current target is illegal).September 22, 2011
  • When the delayed trigger resolves, it creates a copy of a spell. You control the copy. That copy is created on the stack, so it's not "cast." Abilities that trigger when a player casts a spell won't trigger. The copy will then resolve like a normal spell, after players get a chance to cast spells and activate abilities.September 22, 2011
  • When you activate Chandra's last ability, you choose up to six target creatures and/or players. No damage is divided, and Chandra can't deal more than 6 damage to any one target. Chandra deals 6 damage to each target that is still legal when the ability resolves.September 22, 2011
  • You can't choose to pay any additional costs for the copy. However, effects based on any additional costs that were paid for the original spell are copied as though those same costs were paid for the copy too. For example, if you sacrifice a 3/3 creature to cast Fling after activating Chandra's second ability, the copy of Fling will also deal 3 damage.September 22, 2011

Printings

Magic 2012mythic
Magic 2013mythic

This card is not on the Reserved List.

Prices

America: TCGPlayer Low Avg Foil (Avg)
Magic 2013$1.22$1.22$1.22
Magic 2012$1.67$1.67$1.67
Europe: MKM Low Avg Foil (Low)
Magic 20120.930.935.25
Magic 20131.121.125.94
MTGO: Cardhoarder Basic Foil
Magic 20120.01TIX0.44TIX
Magic 20130.01TIX0.61TIX