ComboDeck

Your friendly Magic: the Gathering card search! Your friendly Magic card search!

Search for anything on a card:

Search cards for anything:

Clever Impersonator in Khans of Tarkir Art unavailable
Khans of Tarkir #34 mythic
September 26, 2014
Illus. Slawomir Maniak
"Our own selves are the greatest obstacles to enlightenment." —Narset, khan of the Jeskai

Clever Impersonator

Creature — Shapeshifter

You may have this creature enter as a copy of any nonland permanent on the battlefield.

0/0

Formats

Commander
Brawl
Duel Commander
Explorer
Historic
Legacy
Modern
Pioneer
Vintage
Not in formatStandard
Future
Old School
Pauper
Penny Dreadful
Pre-Modern

Oracle Rulings

  • Any enters-the-battlefield abilities of the chosen permanent will trigger when Clever Impersonator enters the battlefield. Any “as [this permanent] enters the battlefield” or “[this permanent] enters the battlefield with” abilities of the chosen permanent will also work.September 20, 2014
  • Clever Impersonator copies exactly what is printed on the chosen permanent (unless that permanent is copying something else or is a token; see below). It doesn’t copy whether that permanent is tapped or untapped, whether that permanent has any counters on it or any Auras and/or Equipment attached to it, and it doesn’t copy any non-copy effects that have changed that permanent’s power, toughness, types, color, abilities, or so on.September 20, 2014
  • If Clever Impersonator enters the battlefield as a copy of a planeswalker, it will enter the battlefield with a number of loyalty counters on it equal to the loyalty printed in the lower right corner of the planeswalker card. It won’t copy the number of loyalty counters on the original planeswalker.September 20, 2014
  • If Clever Impersonator enters the battlefield at the same time as another permanent, it can’t become a copy of that permanent. You may choose only a nonland permanent that’s already on the battlefield.September 20, 2014
  • If the chosen permanent has in its mana cost, X is considered to be 0.September 20, 2014
  • If the chosen permanent is a copy of something else (for example, if the chosen permanent is another Clever Impersonator), then your Clever Impersonator enters the battlefield as whatever the chosen permanent copied.September 20, 2014
  • If the chosen permanent is a token, Clever Impersonator copies the original characteristics of that token as defined by the effect that put that token onto the battlefield. Clever Impersonator is not a token.September 20, 2014
  • Remember that if you control more than one legendary permanent with the same name, you’ll choose one to remain on the battlefield and put the rest into their owner’s graveyard.September 20, 2014
  • You can choose not to copy anything. In that case, Clever Impersonator enters the battlefield as a 0/0 creature, and it’s put into the graveyard immediately (unless something is raising its toughness above 0).September 20, 2014
  • You choose which nonland permanent Clever Impersonator will copy, if any, as it enters the battlefield. This doesn’t target that nonland permanent.September 20, 2014

Printings

Khans of Tarkirmythic
Khans of Tarkir Promosmythic
Commander 2019mythic
Explorer Anthology 2mythic
The Listmythic

This card is not on the Reserved List.

Prices

America: TCGPlayer Low Avg Foil (Avg)
The List$2.43$2.43$2.43
Khans of Tarkir$3.01$3.01$3.01
Commander 2019$3.75$3.75$3.75
Khans of Tarkir Promos$5.67$5.67$5.67
Europe: MKM Low Avg Foil (Low)
Commander 20192.212.212.26
Khans of Tarkir Promos2.582.585.36
Khans of Tarkir2.582.588.59
MTGO: Cardhoarder Basic Foil
Khans of Tarkir0.15TIX10TIX