ComboDeck

Your friendly Magic: the Gathering card search! Your friendly Magic card search!

Search for anything on a card:

Search cards for anything:

Declaration in Stone in Shadows over Innistrad Promos Art unavailable
Shadows over Innistrad Promos #12s rare
April 8, 2016
Illus. Tyler Jacobson
The message was clear to Sorin—Nahiri had paid Markov Manor a visit.

Declaration in Stone

Sorcery

Exile target creature and all other creatures its controller controls with the same name as that creature. That player investigates for each nontoken creature exiled this way.

Formats

Commander
Brawl
Duel Commander
Explorer
Historic
Legacy
Modern
Penny Dreadful
Pioneer
Vintage
Not in formatStandard
Future
Old School
Pauper
Pre-Modern

Oracle Rulings

  • A face-down creature, such as one cast with a megamorph ability from the Dragons of Tarkir set, has no name and can't share a name with any other creatures.April 8, 2016
  • Clue is an artifact type. Even though it appears on some cards with other permanent types, it's never a creature type, a land type, or anything but an artifact type.April 8, 2016
  • Declaration in Stone has only one target. The other creatures with that name aren't targeted. For example, a creature with hexproof will be exiled if it has the same name as the target creature.April 8, 2016
  • If an effect refers to a Clue, it means any Clue artifact, not just a Clue artifact token. For example, you can sacrifice Wrench to pay for Alquist Proft, Master Sleuth's activated ability.April 8, 2016
  • If the target creature is an illegal target when Declaration in Stone tries to resolve, it won't resolve and none of its effects will happen. No creatures will be exiled, including those with the same name as the target.April 8, 2016
  • It's possible to have a creature and a noncreature permanent with the same name, such as two copies of the same land, one of which has become a land creature. Only creatures with that name are exiled by Declaration in Stone.April 8, 2016
  • You can't sacrifice a Clue to pay multiple costs. For example, you can't sacrifice a Clue token to activate its own ability and also to activate Alquist Proft, Master Sleuth's ability.April 8, 2016
  • Unless a token is a copy of another permanent or was explicitly given a name by the effect that created it, its name is the subtypes it was given when it was created plus the word "Token." For example, if an effect creates a 1/1 Soldier creature token, that token is named "Soldier Token."June 10, 2022

Prices

America: TCGPlayer Low Avg Foil (Avg)
New Capenna Commander20¢20¢20¢
Shadows over Innistrad28¢28¢28¢
Europe: MKM Low Avg Foil (Low)
Shadows over Innistrad0.120.120.94
New Capenna Commander0.150.150.20
Shadows over Innistrad Promos1.251.251.53
MTGO: Cardhoarder Basic Foil
Shadows over Innistrad0.02TIX0.83TIX