ComboDeck

Your friendly Magic: the Gathering card search! Your friendly Magic card search!

Search for anything on a card:

Search cards for anything:

Gideon of the Trials

Legendary Planeswalker — Gideon

[+1]: Until your next turn, prevent all damage target permanent would deal.

[0]: Until end of turn, Gideon becomes a 4/4 Human Soldier creature with indestructible that's still a planeswalker. Prevent all damage that would be dealt to him this turn.

[0]: You get an emblem with "As long as you control a Gideon planeswalker, you can't lose the game and your opponents can't win the game."

3 Loyalty

Formats

Commander
Brawl
Duel Commander
Explorer
Historic
Legacy
Modern
Penny Dreadful
Pioneer
Vintage
Not in formatStandard
Future
Old School
Pauper
Pre-Modern

Oracle Rulings

  • Gideon's first ability will continue to prevent damage dealt by the target permanent even if Gideon leaves the battlefield before your next turn.April 18, 2017
  • Gideon's second ability causes him to become a creature with the creature types Human and Soldier. He remains a planeswalker with the planeswalker type Gideon. (He also retains any other card types or subtypes he may have had.) Each subtype is correlated to the proper card type: planeswalker is only a type (not a creature type), and Human and Soldier are just creature types (not planeswalker types).April 18, 2017
  • Gideon's second ability doesn't count as a creature entering the battlefield. Gideon was already on the battlefield; he only changed his types.April 18, 2017
  • If Gideon becomes a creature the same turn he enters the battlefield, you can't attack with him or use any of his abilities (if he gains any).April 18, 2017
  • If Gideon leaves the battlefield after giving you his emblem, you'll keep the emblem. Its effect will apply again later if another Gideon comes under your control.April 18, 2017
  • If damage that can't be prevented is dealt to Gideon after his second ability has resolved, that damage will have all applicable results: specifically, the damage is marked on Gideon (since he's a creature) and that damage causes that many loyalty counters to be removed from him (since he's a planeswalker). Even though he has indestructible, if Gideon has no loyalty counters on him, he's put into his owner's graveyard.April 18, 2017
  • If you have Gideon's emblem in a Two-Headed Giant game and control a Gideon planeswalker, your team can't lose the game and the opposing team can't win the game. If your teammate controls a Gideon planeswalker but you do not, your emblem's effect doesn't apply.April 18, 2017
  • No game effect can cause you to lose the game or cause any opponent to win the game while Gideon's emblem is in effect. It doesn't matter whether you have 0 or less life, you're forced to draw a card while your library is empty, you have ten or more poison counters, you're at your Glorious End, your opponent casts a second Approach of the Second Sun, or so on. You keep playing.April 18, 2017
  • Other circumstances can still cause you to lose the game. You will lose a game if you concede, if you're penalized with a Game Loss or a Match Loss during a sanctioned tournament due to a DCI rules infraction, or if your Magic Online® game clock runs out of time.April 18, 2017

Printings

Amonkhetmythic
Amonkhet Promosmythic
San Diego Comic-Con 2017mythic
San Diego Comic-Con 2018mythic
Magic Online Promosmythic
Amonkhet Remasteredmythic

This card is not on the Reserved List.

Prices

America: TCGPlayer Low Avg Foil (Avg)
Amonkhet$2.00$2.00$2.00
Europe: MKM Low Avg Foil (Low)
Amonkhet1.051.053.40
Amonkhet Promos--3.56
San Diego Comic-Con 2017--9.97
San Diego Comic-Con 2018--19
MTGO: Cardhoarder Basic Foil
Amonkhet0.01TIX1.34TIX
Magic Online Promos0.17TIX-