ComboDeck

Your friendly Magic: the Gathering card search! Your friendly Magic card search!

Search for anything on a card:

Search cards for anything:

Snapcaster Mage

Creature — Human Wizard

Flash

When this creature enters, target instant or sorcery card in your graveyard gains flashback until end of turn. The flashback cost is equal to its mana cost. (You may cast that card from your graveyard for its flashback cost. Then exile it.)

2/1

Formats

Commander
Brawl
Duel Commander
Historic
Legacy
Modern
Vintage
Not in formatStandard
Explorer
Future
Old School
Pauper
Penny Dreadful
Pioneer
Pre-Modern

Oracle Rulings

  • "Flashback [cost]" means "You may cast this card from your graveyard by paying [cost] rather than paying its mana cost" and "If the flashback cost was paid, exile this card instead of putting it anywhere else any time it would leave the stack."March 19, 2021
  • A spell cast using flashback will always be exiled afterward, whether it resolves, is countered, or leaves the stack in some other way.March 19, 2021
  • If a card has multiple instances of flashback, you may choose any of its flashback costs to pay.March 19, 2021
  • If a card with flashback is put into your graveyard during your turn, you can cast it if it's legal to do so before any other player can take any actions.March 19, 2021
  • If a card with no mana cost gains flashback, it has no flashback cost. It can't be cast this way.March 19, 2021
  • If a split card gains flashback, you pay only the cost of the half you're casting.March 19, 2021
  • If you cast a spell with flashback, you can't pay any alternative costs such as overload costs. You can pay additional costs such as kicker costs. If the spell has any mandatory additional costs, you must pay those to cast the spell with flashback.March 19, 2021
  • If you cast an instant or sorcery with in its mana cost this way, you still choose the value of X as part of casting the spell and pay that cost.March 19, 2021
  • To determine the total cost of a spell, start with the mana cost or alternative cost (such as a flashback cost) you're paying, add any cost increases, then apply any cost reductions. The mana value of the spell is determined only by its mana cost, no matter what the total cost to cast the spell was.March 19, 2021
  • You can cast a spell using flashback even if it was somehow put into your graveyard without having been cast.March 19, 2021
  • You must still follow any timing restrictions and permissions, including those based on the card's type. For instance, you can cast a sorcery using flashback only when you could normally cast a sorcery.March 19, 2021

Prices

America: TCGPlayer Low Avg Foil (Avg)
Innistrad Remastered$13$13$13
Innistrad$15$15$15
Modern Masters 2017$15$15$15
Ultimate Masters$15$15$15
The List$16$16$16
Regional Championship Qualifiers 2023$58$58$58
Secret Lair Drop$742$742$742
Europe: MKM Low Avg Foil (Low)
Innistrad131338
Innistrad Remastered141438
Ultimate Masters141430
Modern Masters 2017151523
The List1616-
Pro Tour Promos--34
Ultimate Box Topper--46
Secret Lair Drop716716850
MTGO: Cardhoarder Basic Foil
Innistrad0.25TIX1.00TIX
Modern Masters 20171.29TIX1.27TIX
Magic Online Promos2.38TIX-
Ultimate Masters2.63TIX9.23TIX
Innistrad Remastered2.98TIX-
Ultimate Box Topper6.36TIX10TIX